top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekenlie renee cerull

DAYDREAM VIDEO PROJECT



DISCOMANIA:

Fractured fairy tales are a concept I have always known, but have not considered in great depth. As I approached this project, I knew that color, illusion, and a warped sense of life is executed. Recently, I have had a recurring dream where I begin to lose my vision and sense of gravity as I am walking in a hallway. I quickly realize that the hallway is neverending, and my senses are further impaired. I applied my dream to Alice and Wonderland’s rabbit hole scene. Romanticization was the one theme I found to trail between everything I compiled into this piece. As the video begins, a cassette tape plays in the background. It soon fades to silence as a voice takes over. “Birthdays.” As the audio continues, the scene fades to black, the character is awoken in an animated life. Falling deeper and deeper into a transcendent series of color and visualizations, the narration begins to spiral out of control, appearing almost irrational. The animation continues through three cycles-- bouncing back and forth as the delusions grow stronger and the cycle moves faster. Suddenly, the character falls back to reality -- the narration ends shortly thereafter.




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page